Improving the ISC Bulletin: The ISC Rebuild Project

Lonn Brown*1, Kathrin Lieser2, James Harris3, Blessing Shumba4, Domenico Di Giacomo5, Dmitry Storchak6, Edith Korger7

 1International Seismological Centre, Thatcham, UK (lonn@isc.ac.uk), 2International Seismological Centre, Thatcham, UK (kathrin@isc.ac.uk), 3International Seismological Centre, Thatcham, UK (james@isc.ac.uk), 4International Seismological Centre, Thatcham, UK (blessing@isc.ac.uk), 5International Seismological Centre, Thatcham, UK (domenico@isc.ac.uk), 6International Seismological Centre, Thatcham, UK (dmitry@isc.ac.uk), 7Alfred Wegener Institute, Bremerhaven, Germany (edith.korger@awi.de

The ISC Bulletin is widely regarded as the most complete and definitive record of global seismicity, and its current statereflects its historical nature; a mixture of methods and procedures that improved alongside the seismological networks, instrumentation, and knowledge that it is based on. By revisiting the earlier portions of the bulletin and applying new methods, significant improvements can be made and provided to the public. One of the obvious improvements is the addition of new data that was not available at the time of initial relocation. We review here the large amount of new data contributions in the historical period, show the updated relocations, and discuss the effects of such data on the bulletin. We specifically review the contributions from regions that have not historically offered open access to their data, including from temporary deployments that have made excellent contributions as well. We further discuss other improvements made to the procedures at the ISC, the progress of the ISC Rebuild Project, and how additional data sets from parties interested in getting more use out of their seismic networks can help to improve the ISC bulletin. Looking forward, the ISC will continue to make every effort to find and include datasets from temporary deployments, to compile them with the data we already receive from over 150 countries and agencies, and to provide the very best seismic bulletin possible.

Advertisements